English (United Kingdom)Español(Spanish Formal International)French (Fr)

The Host Country

Indonesia

Map of IndonesiaSituated between two continents and two oceans, the Indian and Pacific oceans, Indonesia is the world's largest archipelago comprising some 17,508 islands that stretch across the equator for more than 5,000 miles. Straddling the equator, Indonesia is distinctly tropical with two seasons: dry and rainy season. With its geographical location in South East Asia, Indonesia is accessible for the delegates regardless of the region they are from. Being the fourth largest population in the world with nearly 88% of its 220 million citizens of the Muslim faith, peace-loving Indonesia welcomes the opportunity to host COP9 of the Basel Convention. Indonesia is also a melting pot of different communities, benefiting from centuries of peaceful coexistence. Indonesia is great place to visit, as it offers superb natural beauty, cultural, artistic wealth, and warm hospitality. The diversity and authenticity of cultures, arts, as well as flora and fauna represents the precious treasures that can be found throughout different parts of Indonesia.

Bali
Bali is located just off the eastern tip of Java, from which it is separated by the Bali Strait. On its north and south side, the island is flanked by the Java Sea and the Indian Ocean, respectively.The island occupies an area of approximately 6,000 square kilometers and lies on a latitude of 8° south of the equator, having population of around 3.5 million. Bali is one of Indonesia's provinces, with Denpasar as provincial capital. Endowed with great natural beauty and rich culture has made Bali globally known as an island of paradise. Bali's spectacular beaches, volcanoes, lakes, temples, and terraced rice fields -- combined with its deeply artistic roots and its legendary hospitality -- have made it one of the most visited places on earth. The religion and culture of Bali are unique in the world, and the Balinese have preserved their traditions in spite of the island's growing tourist industry. Bali International Airport, Ngurah Rai, is the nation's eastern gateway, served by numerous International airlines and charter flights.
Bali International Convention Centre (BICC)

The First Simultaneous Extraordinary Meetings of the Conferences of the Parties to the Basel, Rotterdam and Stockholm Conventions on enhancing cooperation and coordination among the three Conventions will be held in Bali, Indonesia, at the Bali International Convention Centre in, Nusa Dua, from 22 to 24 February 2010, in coordination with the eleventh special session of the Governing Council/Global Ministerial Environment Forum (GC/GMEF) of UNEP which will be held at the same venue from 24 to 26 February 2010. The BICC is situated in the self-contained resort area of Nusa Dua, which is just 10 km from the Ngurah Rai International Airport. It is also connected through an air-conditioned shopping arcade with the Westin Resort (the main venue hotel) and surrounded by some of Bali's finest five-star hotels and resorts (Ayodya Resort, Inna Putri Bali, Grand Hyatt, Melia Bali, The Laguna Resort & Spa, and Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa),and within walking distance of fantastic shopping, entertainment, restaurants, a championship golf course and a host of other recreational facilities.
Climate
Bali enjoys warm, tropical weather all year. Temperatures average is between 21 to 33 C (68 to 93 F) year round. In the mountains, however, it can go as low as 5 C at night. Humidity varies between 60% and 100%. In general, Bali experiences two seasons: moist and wet. The dry season is normally from May to October, whereas the rainy season is normally from November to April, during which it can rain for several hours each day. The rain tends to be intermittent, however, with plenty of sun in between. There is comparatively little difference between the daytime and night time temperatures. All conference sessions will be held in air-conditioned venues.
Language
Bahasa Indonesia is the national language, but English is widely spoken and understood.
Time Zone
Bali is in the Central Indonesian Timezone, which is GMT+8hours.
Businesshours
Business and government offices are open either from 08.00am to 04.00pm or 09.00am to 05.00pm from Monday to Friday.
Electric Current
The electric current in use throughout Indonesia is 220-230volts at50Hz. Most hotels can provide transformers and adapters. POWER PLUG 220 V
IDD (International Direct Dialing)
Country Code (Indonesia): 62 City code (Bali): 361
Currency
The Indonesian currency is Rupiah (IDR). The currency exchange is approximately USD 1 = IDR 9,175. Most foreign currencies are easily changed at airports, banks, hotels or money changers. The currency exchange rate fluctuates regularly. Check with your bank for the latest exchange rates. Banking hours are from 08.00 am to 14.00 noon Mondays to Fridays, and from 08.00 am to 11.00 am on Saturdays. Bank in hotels usually stay open longer hours while money changers are generally open till the evening. ATM is available in many places, provides VISA, MASTER, ALTO and more.
Living Cost
Cost of living in Bali is reasonable. For three times of daily meals (incl. food and drink) at local restaurants will cost at around USD 15 to USD 20 per person. Food and drink at better hotels cost about the same as in the same category of hotel anywhere else in the world. Breakfast is USD 8 to USD 30, lunch and dinner USD 20 to USD 70 or more per person - and that does not include any wine which can be very expensive. On the other hand, restaurants outside the large hotels are often 60% to 80% cheaper.
Travelers'checks & Credit Cards
Travelers' checks are accepted by leading banks and hotels in principal cities, including Bali. The use of travelers' checks in Indonesia is as popular as in any other countries. Diners Club and American Express, Visa and MasterCard are widely accepted at hotels, department stores, shops, restaurants and pubs. According to Indonesian banking regulations, payment by credit cards should be charged in local currency.
Customs
Customs allow on entry at maximum of one liter of alcoholic beverages, 200 cigarettes or 50 cigars 100 grams of tobacco and a reasonable amount of perfume per adult. Cameras, video cameras, portable radios, cassette recorders, binoculars and sport equipment are admitted provided they are taken out on departure. They must be declared to Customs. Prohibited are firearms, narcotic drugs, pornography, trans receivers and cordless telephones. Films, pre-recorded video tapes and laser disks must be screened by the Censor Board.
While there is no restriction on the amount of foreign currency that may be brought into Indonesia, those who bring into the country currency worth more than 100 million Rupiah must be declared to customs upon arrival at the first port of entry.
Security Arrangement
Strict security measures will be provided at the conference venue and all designated hotels. Security is provided at places outside the conference venue and hotels where official activities are held.
Clothing
Dress is normally casual and light clothing is advisable due to the hot, humid climate. Trousers or slack and shirts are generally considered appropriate but a jacket and tie are required for formal occasions when making official calls. For certain formal occasions, long-sleeved batik shirts are acceptable. For travel to mountain areas, a light sweater or jacket is recommended. Halter tops and shorts are frowned upon in most places except around sport facilities or on the beach,proper decorum should especially be observed when visiting places of worship.
Shopping
The major cities have shopping complexes, supermarkets and department stores where prices are fixed. They start open from 09.00 am to 09.00 pm everyday and some eve non Sunday. At small shops bargaining might be necessary. Bali has various shopping spots. Main tourist roads are often lined with shops and stalls selling crafts of all types. Ubud (25kmNorthofDenpasar) and the surrounding villages of Pengosekan, Mas and Batuan are breeding grounds for arts, ranging from 'wayang style' paintings, polished woodcarving and antiques to traditional Balinese Carvings made from volcanic purnice. For those who do not like to wander too much
From the beach, Kuta and Legian have more modern shopping areas.
Gratuities
Tipping is not encouraged in hotels and restaurants if 10% service is already included in a bill. Extra tips from satisfied customers are for encouragement. At most hotels a service charge of 10% is added to the bills. An airport porter expects 15,000Rupiah per bag.
Sightseeing
Places of interest in Bali include Ubud, Bangli, Batubulan, Bedugul, Besakih, Celuk, enpasar, GoaGajah, GoaLawah, JimbaranBay, Lovina, Kintamani, Klungkung, Kuta & Legian, Mas, Menjangan Island, Nusa Dua, Peliatan, Sangeh, Sanur, Tampak Siring, TanahLot, Tenganan, Trunyan, Yeh Saneh, Sanur Beach.
Must See
Balinese popular dances are Kecak, Baris, Barong & Rangda, Legong, Sanghyang Trance Dances and Topeng (Mask) Dances.
Worship Places
Worship places for Buddhists, Catholics, Muslims as well as Protestants are available in Bali.
Clinics/Doctors
International standard clinics are available in Bali. To name of some of them: Bali International Medical Center (BIMC), Nusa Dua Medical Service, Kuta Clinic, Ubud Clinic and SOS Medika.
Security
During the conference period, the Bali International Convention Centre will be under UN jurisdiction with security system managed by the UN.

 

 

 

Last Updated ( Wednesday, 17 February 2010 )

English (United Kingdom)Español(Spanish Formal International)French (Fr)

Le Pays Hôte

Indonésie

Map of IndonesiaSituée entre deux continents et deux océans, l'Indien et le Pacifique, l'Indonésie est le plus grand archipel du monde comprenant quelque 17.508 îles qui s'étendent à travers l'équateur plus de 5.000 miles. À cheval sur l'équateur, l'Indonésie est nettement tropical avec deux saisons: saison sèche et pluvieuse. Grâce à sa situation géographique en Asie du Sud Est, l'Indonésie est accessible pour les délégués, quelle que soit la région d'où ils proviennent. Étant la quatrième plus grande population au monde avec près de 88% de ses 220 millions de citoyens de confession musulmane, l'Indonésie pacifiste se rejouit de l'opportunite d'acueillir la COP9 de la Convention de Bâle. L'Indonésie est également un melange de différentes communautés, en bénéficiant de siècles de coexistence pacifique. L'Indonésie est un endroit idéal à visiter, car il offre une beauté naturelle superbe, une richesse culturelle, artistique et une chaleureuse hospitalité. La diversité et l'authenticité des cultures, des arts, ainsi que la flore et la faune représente les trésors précieux que l'on retrouve dans différentes parties de l'Indonésie.

Bali
Bali est situé juste à côté de la pointe orientale de Java, dont il est séparé par le détroit de Bali. Sur ses côtés nord et sud, l'île est bordée par la mer de Java et de l'Océan Indien, l'île respectively. L'île occupe une superficie d'environ 6000 kilomètres carrés et est située sur une latitude de 8 ° au sud de l'équateur, après avoir population d'environ 3,5 millions. Bali est une des provinces de l'Indonésie, ayant Denpasar comme capitale provinciale. Douée d'une grande beauté naturelle et une riche culture, Bali est mondialement connue comme un îlot de paradis. Les plages spectaculaires de Bali, les volcans, les lacs, les temples, et les rizières en terrasses - combiné à ses racines profondément artistiques et à son hospitalité légendaire - en ont fait l'un des endroits les plus visités sur terre. La religion et la culture de Bali sont uniques dans le monde, et les Balinais ont conservé leurs traditions, en dépit de l'industrie touristique en pleine expansion. L'aéroport international de Bali, Ngurah Rai, est la porte orientale de la nation, desservi par de nombreuses lignes internationales et des vols charter.
Centre des Congrès Internationaux à Bali (CCIB)
Le premières réunions extraordinaires simultanée des Conférences des Parties à la Convention de Bâle, de Rotterdam et de Stockholm sur le renforcement de la coopération et la coordination entre les trois Conventions se tiendra à Bali, en Indonésie, au Centre de Convention Internationale de Bali, Nusa Dua, du 22 au 26 Février 2010, en coordination avec l'onzième session extraordinaire du Conseil d'administration / Forum ministériel mondial sur l'environnement (GC / FMME) du PNUE qui se tiendra au même endroit 24 au 26 février 2010. Le BICC est situé dans le domaine indépendant, station balnéaire de Nusa Dua, qui est à seulement 10 km de l'aéroport international de Ngurah Rai. Il est aussi relié par une galérie marchande d'air-conditionné avec le Westin Resort (l'hôtel le lieu principal) et entouré par quelques-uns des hôtels cinq étoiles les plus raffinés de Bali et des stations (Ayodya Resort, Inna Putri Bali, Grand Hyatt, l'hôtel Melia Bali, La Laguna Resort & Spa, Nusa Dua Beach Hôtel & Spa), et à distance de marche des boutiques fantastiques, des divertissements, des restaurants, un golf de championnat et de nombreuses autres installations récréatives.
Climatique
Bali bénéficie d'un temps chaud et tropical toute l'année. La température moyenne est de 21 à 33 C (68 à 93 F) toute l'année. Dans les montagnes, elle peut toutefois aller aussi bas que 5 C la nuit. Taux d'humidité varie entre 60% et 100%. En général, Bali connaît deux saisons: sèche et humide. La saison sèche est normalement de Mai à Octobre, alors que la saison des pluies est généralement à partir de novembre à avril, pendant laquelle il peut pleuvoir pendant plusieurs heures chaque jour. La pluie a tendance à être intermittent, cependant, avec beaucoup de soleil entre les deux. Il ya relativement peu de différence entre les températures diurne et nocturne. Toutes les séances auront lieu dans des salles de conférence climatisées .
Langue
Le Bahasa Indonesia est la langue nationale, mais l'anglais est largement parlé et compris.
Le fuseau horaire
Bali est dans le fuseau horaire centrale indonésien, qui est GMT + 8 heures.
Heures d'ouverture
Les commerces et des bureaux gouvernementaux sont ouverts soit à partir de 08.00am à 04.00pm ou de 09.00am à 05.00pm du lundi au vendredi.
Courant électrique
Le courant électrique en usage dans toute l'Indonésie est de 220-230volts at50Hz. La plupart des hôtels peuvent fournir des transformateurs et des adaptateurs. PLUG POWER 220 V
IDD (International Direct Dialing)
Code de pays (Indonésie): 62 Ville Code (Bali): 361
Devises
La monnaie indonésienne est le Rupiah (IDR). Le taux de change est d'environ USD 1 = IDR 9175. La plupart des devises étrangères sont faciles à changer dans les aéroports, les banques, les hôtels ou les changeurs de monnaie. Le taux de change fluctue régulièrement. Vérifiez auprès de votre banque pour obtenir les taux de change plus récents. Les banques sont ouvertes de 08.00 h à 14.00 h du lundi au vendredi, et 08h00-11h00 le samedi. Les banques dans les hôtels restent généralement ouvertes plus longtemps alors que les changeurs de monnaie sont généralement ouverts que le soir. Les automates sont disponibles dans de nombreux endroits, et acceptent VISA, MASTER, ALTO et plus encore.
Coût de la vie
Le coût de la vie à Bali est raisonnable. Pour trois repas par jour (y compris la nourriture et la boisson) dans des restaurants locaux, il coûtera aux alentours de 15 USD à 20 USD par personne. Les aliments et boissons dans les meilleurs hôtels coûtent environ le même prix que dans la même catégorie de hôtel partout ailleurs dans le monde. Le petit-déjeuner coûte entre USD 8 et 30 USD, le déjeuner et le dîner de 20 USD à 70 USD ou plus par personne - sans compter le vin qui peut être très coûteux. D'autre part, les restaurants en dehors des grands hôtels sont souvent 60% à 80% moins cher.
Chèque de voyage & cartes de crédit

Les chèques de voyage sont acceptés par les principales banques et les hôtels dans les principales villes, y compris à Bali. L'utilisation de chèques de voyage en Indonésie est aussi populaire que dans tout autre pays. Diners Club et American Express, Visa et MasterCard sont largement acceptées dans les hôtels, grands magasins, boutiques, restaurants et pubs. Selon la réglementation bancaire indonésienne, le paiement par cartes de crédit devrait être chargé en monnaie locale.

Douanes

La douane à l'entrée permet au maximum un litre de boisson alcoolisées, 200 cigarettes ou 50 cigares, 100 grammes de tabac et une quantité raisonnable de parfum par adulte. Appareils photo, caméras vidéo, radios portables, les magnétophones, de jumelles et d'équipements sportifs sont admis à condition qu'ils soient pris au départ. Ils doivent être déclarés aux douanes. Il est interdit les armes à feu, de stupéfiants, la pornographie, les récepteurs trans et téléphones sans fil. Les films, bandes vidéo pré-enregistrées et disques laser doivent être vérifiés par la Commission de censure.
Bien qu'il n'existe aucune restriction sur la quantité de devises qui peut être emportée en Indonésie, ceux qui emmenent dans le pays plus de 100 millions Rupiah doivent être déclarées aux douanes à l'arrivée au premier port d'entrée.

Dispositif de Securité
Des strictes mesures de sécurité seront fournies sur le lieu de conférence et tous les hôtels désignés. La sécurité est assurée sur les lieux en dehors du lieu de conférence et les hôtels où les activités officielles sont organisées.
Vêtements
Les habits sont normalement informels et des vêtements légers sont souhaitables en raison du climat chaud et humide. Les pantalons et des chemises ou slack sont généralement considérées comme appropriés, mais une veste et cravate sont requis pour les occasions formelles lorsqu'ils effectuent des appels officiels. Pour certaines occasions formelles, des chemises à manches longues batik sont acceptables. Pour voyager aux zones de montagne, un pull léger ou une veste est recommandée. Le dos-nus et les shorts sont mal acceptés dans la plupart des endroits, sauf autour des installations de sport ou sur la plage, le habillement adéquat doit en particulier être respectés lors de visites des lieux de culte.
Shopping
Les grandes villes ont des complexes commerciaux, des supermarchés et des grands magasins où les prix sont fixes. Ils ouvrent de 09h00 am à 09.00 h tous les jours et certains même le dimanche. Lors de l'achat dans de petits magasins marchander pourrait être nécessaire. Bali a plusieurs points pour shopping. Les routes touristiques sont souvent bordées de magasins et de stands vendant de l'artisanat de tous types. Ubud (25kmNorthofDenpasar) et les villages environnants de Pengosekan, Mas et Batuan sont des terrains propices pour les arts, allant de «style du wayang" peintures, sculpture sur bois poli et antiquités aux sculptures de style traditionnel balinais fabriquées à partir de purnice volcaniques. Pour ceux qui n'aiment pas se promener trop.
A la plage, Kuta et Legian il y a les zones commerçantes les plus modernes.
Pourboires
Le pourboire n'est pas encouragé dans les hôtels et restaurants si 10% de service est déjà inclus dans un projet de loi. Des pourboires supplémentaires des clients satisfaits sont à titre d'encouragement. La plupart de frais de service d'hôtels frais de 10% est ajouté à la facture. Un porteur à l'aéroport s'attend à 15.000 roupies par bagage.
Visite touristique
Les lieux d'intérêt à Bali comprennent Ubud, Bangli, Batubulan, Bedugul, Besakih, Celuk, Enpasar, GoaGajah, GoaLawah, JimbaranBay, Lovina, Kintamani, Klungkung, Kuta et Legian, Mas, Menjangan Island, Nusa Dua, Peliatan, Sangeh, Sanur, Tampak Saillies, Tanahlot, Tenganan, Trunyan, Yeh Saneh, Sanur Beach.
Faut Voir
Les danses populaires balinaises sont Kecak, Baris, Barong & Rangda, Legong, Sanghyang Trance danses et Topeng (Masquée).
Lieux de culte
Les lieux de culte pour les bouddhistes, les catholiques, les musulmans et les protestants sont disponibles à Bali.
Cliniques / Médecins
Les cliniques standard international sont disponibles à Bali. Pour le nom de certains d'entre eux: Bali International Medical Center (BIMC), Nusa Dua, le Service médical, Clinique de Kuta, Ubud et SOS Clinique Medika.
Sécurité
Pendant la période de la conférence, le Bali Centre International de Conférences sera sous la juridiction de l'ONU avec le système de sécurité gérés par l'ONU.

 

 

 

 

Mise à jour ( Mercredi, 17 Février 2010 10:27 )